Smithton honors retired faculty

May 30, 2008


Smithton faculty and staff had a retirement and recognition luncheon May 20.
Jay Schaaf retired after 13 years in the maintenance department. Gary Gill retired after nine years. He was the high school business and drama teacher. Gary Myers retired after 10 years as a bus driver. Rhonda Carver, elementary special education teacher, retired after 26 years of service. 
Jillian Burrows, a 2008 graduate, received a certificate from Dr. Ray Patrick, a representative from the Missouri Association of Rural Educators. She was selected as the outstanding high school student of the year.
Tammie Lemons was nominated by the district for outstanding middle school teacher. Mary Beatty was nominated for outstanding elementary school teacher.
Cindy Jorgenson, elementary principal, was nominated for principal of the year and honored at the Missouri Association of Elementary School Principals at the annual meeting in March.