Pettis clerk taking absentee ballots

February 25, 2009

The Pettis County Clerk’s Office is now accepting absentee ballots for the April 7 municipal elections.


Missouri does not have early voting, so absentee ballots are for people who cannot vote on election day due to absence from the jurisdiction, incapacity or confinement due to illness or physical disability, religious beliefs, employment as an election authority or incarceration.


Those who intend to vote through absentee ballots must bring proof of their identity and current address to the Pettis County Clerk’s office on the second floor of the courthouse.


Residents of communities across Pettis County will vote on city government leaders, school board members and ballot measures in the April 7 election.

Sedalia voters will select council members for each of the city’s four wards.


Ward 1 incumbent council member Susan Daniels will try to hold off challenger Tony Arbisi. John Bozarth and Susan Collins will compete in Ward 2; the seat is being vacated by current council member Joe Young. Voters will select from four candidates — Terry J. Cockrell, Donna Weston, Pati Carter and Bob Cross — to fill the Ward 3 council seat after incumbent Lester Harrell did not file for re-election. Three people are vying for the Ward 4 council seat, including incumbent Kenneth Norton and two challengers, Joe Zaremba and Joe Gilgour.


Voters in Ward 2 will also decide a special election to fill the last year in former council member Lauretta Emerson’s term. Running are Wanda Monsees and James S. Montgomery. Emerson retired from the council Jan. 5 with one year remaining on her term.


The five candidates for the two openings on the Sedalia 200 School Board are current board President Jeffrey Sharp, Kenny Perry, Ron E. Finnell, John C. Meehan and Stafford M. Swearingen. Board Treasurer Mary Allee, whose term expires in April, did not file for re-election.


Voters in Sweet Springs, Smithton, La Monte, Green Ridge, Hughesville and Houstonia will also elect school board members April 7 to serve three-year terms.


Sweet Springs residents will vote on whether to allow the school district to borrow $3.6 million to pay for the site development, construction, equipping and furnishing of a new pre-kindergarten through fourth grade elementary building, along with completing other remodeling and repair improvements to existing facilities in the district. The outcome of the ballot measure will not affect the district’s property tax levy.


On the ballot in Cole Camp is a measure to authorize the school district to increase the operating property tax levy ceiling and eliminate a sales tax rollback to fund facility maintenance, a roof replacement, install heating, ventilation and air conditioning systems and help retain staff. If approved, the ballot measure will adjust the operating tax levy of the school district from $2.75 to $3.04 per $100 assessed property valuation.


New voters or people who have changed address since their last time voting need to register at the clerk’s office before March 11.