Prep basketball: Pilot Grove’s Schlotzhauer, Bunceton’s Emde named CCAA MVPs

March 7, 2013

After leading Pilot Grove to a 6-0 conference record, freshman forward Mason Schlotzhauer has been named the Cooper County Activities Association Most Valuable Player.

Pilot Groveís Kendall Kraus was also named first-team all-conference. Junior Colten Glenn was a second-team selection and sophomore Jake Leverton was an honorable mention.

Two Otterville players were named to the first team: seniors Ryan Benny and Jake Gaskell. Ottervilleís Devin Rockett was named second-team and Justin Halgren received honorable mention.

Buncetonís Jacob Clevenger and Kyler Tucker were named second-team all-conference.

Buncetonís Rachel Emde was named conference MVP in girls basketball. Erica Kahle was named first-team, Maddy Berwanger second-team and Sam Brandes honorable mention from the Lady Dragons team that went 6-0 in conference.

Two Pilot Grove freshmen were honored: Kerrigan Wessing received first-team and Melissa Schlotzhauer got second-team honors. Pilot Grove sophomore McKalie Lorenz and junior McKenzi Schuster received honorable mentions.