Fair group hands out scholarships

March 22, 2013

Several local high school seniors were named recipients of $1,000 scholarships from the Missouri State Fair’s Youth in Agriculture committee.

Nathaniel Beach, of Pilot Grove; Matthew “David” Boatright, of Sedalia; Courtney Jo Brown, of Chillicothe; Perry Evan Gorrell, of Cole Camp; Jordann Noelle Gregory, of Houstonia; Cyrsten Lollar, of Chillicothe; and Austin Lee Reedy, of Windsor, will be honored on April 19 during the annual State FFA Convention in Columbia.

“Awarding these scholarships is a tradition we are proud to carry on for Missouri’s next generation of agriculture leaders,” said State Fair Director Mark Wolfe in a statement. “The scholarships were funded by the Missouri State Fair Foundation and from Youth in Agriculture buyers and sponsors at the 2012 Sale of Champions.”

The scholarship applicants were evaluated in a variety of areas including Missouri State Fair participation, grade point average, community involvement and leadership roles.

Since 1992, the YIA committee has awarded 436 scholarships totaling $361,000.