SFCC names distinguished writers

June 28, 2013

State Fair Community College has announced the Distinguished Student Writer Awards for 2012-2013.

A panel of writing instructors from the English and mass communications program selected the top 10 students from more than 1,000 students who took composition courses in the fall and spring. The top three students were recognized at a luncheon on the Sedalia campus.

Kate Herrington, of Sedalia, received the top Distinguished Student Writer Award. Natasha Johnson, of Sedalia, placed second, and Ryan Leeman, of Sedalia, placed third.

Other top 10 students were Jimmie A. Ashcraft, Alyssa Endsley and Samantha Fockler, all of Sedalia; Connor Brady, of Roach; Kalli Cheffey, of Palmyra; Mary E. Frintz, of Whiteman Air Force Base; and Katelin Ritchart, of Warrensburg.