General, primary election races fall into place

Dennis Rich

March 28, 2014

For the second election cycle in a row, many state and county incumbents will catch a break in August and November contests following the close of candidate filing for the Aug. 7 primary on Tuesday.

Barring unforeseen circumstances between now and the November general election, the following Republican incumbents will face no opposition in either the primary or general contests, effectively guaranteeing re-election: 28th District State Sen. Mike Parson; 48th District State Rep. Dave Muntzel; Division 5 Circuit Judge Paul Beard; Pettis County Circuit Clerk Susan Sadler; Pettis County Recorder of Deeds Barbara Clevenger; Pettis County Clerk Nick La Strada; and Pettis County Collector of Revenue Marsha Boeschen.

While opposition to incumbents may have been subdued, voters will see an active primary season around high-profile open races including Pettis County Prosecuting Attorney, Pettis County Auditor and Pettis County Presiding Commissioner, with the Prosecuting Attorney and Auditor races being decided between a field of only Republican candidates in the August primary.

Here’s where state and county races stand following the closing of candidate filing.


The sole statewide race will top the ticket in August as incumbent State Auditor Tom Schweich makes his first bid for reelection to that office.

Schweich, a Republican, will face no primary and there is no Democrat Party candidate in the face. However, come November Schweich will have to fend off third party challenges from Sean O’Toole, a Kansas City Libertarian, and Rodney Farthing, of the Constitution Party.

Fourth Congressional District

Fourth District U.S. Rep. Vicky Hartzler, a Republican, will face both primary and general election opponents in her quest for a third term in Congress.

Hartzler could face Democrat and Libertarian party challenges in November, but will first will square off against John Webb, a Cleveland Republican, in the August primary.

Primaries will also be held for the Democrat Party, with Jim White, of Pleasant Hill and Nate Irvin, of Versailles, seeking their party’s nomination for the seat, while the Libertarian Party will see a primary battle between Randal (Randy) Langkraehr, of Warrensburg, and Herschel L. Young, of Harrisonville.

The winners of those three contests will then face one another in the November general election.

Missouri Legislature

Following redistricting in 2010, Pettis County is now covered by a single Missouri Senate district and four legislative districts for the Missouri House of Representatives.

In the 28th State Senatorial District, incumbent Republican Mike Parson faces no opposition in either the primary nor the general election.

In Missouri House Races, 48th District incumbent State Rep. Dave Muntzel, of Boonville, will also see no challengers in August or November.

In District 51, incumbent State Rep. Dean Dohrman, of La Monte, will see a three way race in November against challengers Gary Grigsby, a Warrensburg Democrat, and Bill Wayne, a Warrensburg Libertarian.

In District 52, newcomer Nathan Beard, a Republican, faces no opposition in his bid to replace incumbent State Rep. Stan Cox, who is term-limited from the legislature.

And, in Distrcit 54, State Rep. Denny Hoskins, a Republican, will defend his seat against Kingsville resident Daniel Plemons, of the Constitution Party.

Division 5 Circuit Judge

Incumbent Judge Paul Beard, a Republican, faces no opposition in his bid for reelection.

Division 6 Circuit Judge

The open seat created by the retirement of Judge Robert Liston, a Republican, has set up what may well be the race to watch in August as term-limited State Rep. Stan Cox faces off against Pettis County Prosecuting Attorney Jeff Mittelhauser in the Republican Party.

The winner of that race will go on to face Carmen Smith, of Sedalia, who is running unopposed on the Democratic ticket, and Deborah Mitchell, who has signaled she will run for the office as an independent candidate.

Circuit Clerk

Susan Sadler, incumbent Republican, will face no opposition in the primary or general election.

Pettis County Presiding Commissioner

With incumbent Presiding Commissioner John Meehan, a Republican, opting to not seek a second term in office, three candidates have filed to fill the vacancy as the county’s chief budget officer.

Democrat Kenneth Schuber, of Hughesville, faces no opposition in the August primary.

However, David Dick, of Sedalia, and Pam Carter, of Sedalia, will face off in August in their bids for the Republican nomination for the office.

Pettis County Recorder of Deeds

Incumbent Recorder Barbara Clevenger, a Republican, faces no opposition in the primary or general election.

Pettis County Clerk

Incumbent Clerk Nick La Strada, a Republican, faces no opposition in the primary or general election.

Pettis County Prosecuting Attorney

Incumbent Prosecuting Attorney Jeff Mittelhauser’s decision to seek the Division 6 Circuit Judge position has led to a four-way Republican Party primary to tap his replacement.

The August contest will see Phillip Sawyer, of Sedalia, Kim Tanner, of Sedalia, Andrew Rehmer, of Smithton, and Myron McNeal, of Sedalia, face off for the Republican nomination.

The winner of that contest faces no opposition in November.

Pettis County Auditor

Incumbent Connie Purchase, a Republican, will not seek reelection, creating a three-way GOP primary to fill that office.

Beverly Dillon, of Sedalia, Jileen Wingerter, of Sedalia, and Adam Brooks, of Green Ridge, will vie for the Republican Party nomination in the August primary.

The winner of that contest faces no opposition in November.

Pettis County Collector of Revenue

Collector Marsha Boeschen, the incumbent Republican, faces no opposition in the primary or general elections.