Last updated: August 27. 2013 6:52AM - 132 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

A familiar face returned to victory lane Saturday night in the Midwest Latemodel Racing Association event at LA Raceway near La Monte.

Tony Jackson Jr., of Lebanon, Mo., bested the field in a dominating performance on the 3/8th mile semi-banked, smooth and fast surface.

The win was his third MLRA win of the year and first since late June at Adams County Speedway in Iowa. Jackson’s latest victory was his eighth of the year since Memorial Day weekend.

Jackson sat on the pole alongside fellow front-row starter Will Vaught, of Crane when the field took the initial green flag.

A few early race cautions for minor spins on the track slowed the field, but once racing ensued it was clear Jackson had things covered. Vaught’s night came to an end when he suffered mechanical problems at the start of lap two, ultimately ending his night.

Jesse Stovall charged to the front in the early stages of the race after starting from the outside of row four. The Billings driver didn’t take long to make his way to the front of the field,  but he never really mounted a serious charge on eventual winner Jackson in his new Pierce car.

“The car was great,” Jackson said in a press release. “This is a new Rocket car from Lanigan, and I tried to race it there in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series race at Lakeside last Tuesday but had power steering problems.

“Jesse’s a real-good racer. We race with him a lot, and he’s definitely the one to beat when you come to an MLRA race. I don’t like to set my goals too high but to win eight races when you race with a group of guys like this … we’re having a really good season.”

Jason Bodenhamer, of  Centerview, had one of his stronger runs of the season going until a lap 17 caution flew as he spun in turn three trying to avoid a stalled car, according to the press release. Bodenhamer was unable to continue and relinquished fourth position on the restart.

Jackson ultimately cruised to the win over Stovall. Chase Junghans recorded his best-ever MLRA finish with a strong third, followed by the Hard Charger of the Race, John Anderson.

On back, David Turner was fifth. Behind Turner were Brandon McCormick, Travis Dickes, Matt Johnson, Sonny Findling and Mark Dotson.

In other races, John Allen, of Chanute, Kan., won the A-modified feature, beating Sedalia’s Terry Schultz to the finish line.

Marc Carter, of Warrensburg, won the street stocks final, beating fellow Warrensburg racer Dean Wille to the checkered flag.

Jay Prevete, of Windsor, was eighth.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Sedalia Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com