Last updated: August 28. 2013 6:51AM - 67 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Three types of cars will be in the spotlight Aug. 21 for the annual Missouri State Fair Championships.

A modified division, 360cc cars from the American Sprint Car Series Warrior Region and Midwest Latemodel Racing Association will be on hand at Missouri State Fair Speedway for the only race night of 2011 on the local track.

The most wide-open championship race will likely come in the modified division.

Jim Moody, a past state fair champion from Odessa, plans to race his No. 00 GRT chassis.

After wrapping up his second-consecutive track championship this week at LA Raceway, Terry Schultz should be one of the fan favorites in his familiar No. 90 modified car. Schultz is also on the verge of claiming his first-ever track championship at Central Missouri Speedway.

Although veteran racer John O’Neal will not be competing on the track, he will be there as a car owner for up-and-coming driver Nic Bidinger, of Perry, Kan., who will pilot the No. 15  entry.

Bidinger has half-mile track experience from competing at Lakeside Speedway over the last few years where he has several wins to his credit.

O’Neal said, “I love the extremely fast flat surface; it makes for great competition. The cream always seems to rise to the top on this type of track.”

Another veteran car owner will provide one of the best in the business a chance to bring home the modified crown. Christina Smith, along with Bob Morton Enterprises, will provide a car for Archie driver Matt Johnson. Johnson also has plans to compete with the late models in his own race entry.

Johnson posted a feature win at the speedway last year during one of the weekly races.

Jason Bodenhamer, racing on his favorite track, also will have two chances during the fair races to return to victory lane.

Like Johnson, Bodenhamer will pilot both modified and late-model cars.

Bodenhamer has won races this year in his modified car at CMS and is involved in a points championship battle with Schultz at the track.

Jason Thompson has raced to victory lane twice this season in a self-built motor at LA Raceway, once at Grain Valley Speedway, and twice at CMS in his No 20 car. Thompson was one of the first drivers to say he was racing at the fair this year.

He was last year’s champion at CMS and is a multiple-time champion at LA Raceway.

Additional drivers who have said they plan to attend include Nick Pence, of Raymore; Mark Dotson, of Cameron; Buddy Thompson, of Oak Grove; Dave McVey, of Greenwood; Austin Siebert, of Lake Lotawana; and veteran racer Scotty Roberts, of Columbia.

On race day, pit gates will open at 3 p.m. with admission gates opening at 4:30. Hot laps take place at 5:30 with racing getting under way at 6.  

General admission is $18, seniors and military $15, children 6-12 $8, and children 5 and younger free. All pit passes are $25.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Sedalia Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com