Last updated: September 09. 2013 4:08PM - 47 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Springfield’s Terry Phillips scored his 97th career Lucas Oil MLRA victory on Friday night at Missouri State Fair Speedway.

Hermitage’s Eric Turner swapped the lead back and forth with Phillips for several laps before settling for second at the finish.

Dave Eckrich finished a  third while Midwest Latemodel Racing Association points leader Brad Looney, of Republic, worked his way from his seventh starting position to finish in fourth on the  fast one-half mile track.

Al Purkey recovered from a heat race flat tire to charge from 15th to fifth at the finish.

David Turner and  Eckrich started up front, and Eckrich charged to the top spot to lead lap No. 1 with Eric Turner and David Turner in second and third, respectively.

Eric Turner charged to the lead on lap 10 as Eckrich dropped back to second. Phillips had moved into third by this point in the race.

The first caution flag  flew on lap 23 as Denny Eckrich slowed on the back stretch and was done for the night.

On the ensuing restart J.D. Hubert made contact with the front-stretch guard rail, ending his night.

As the field came to the green flag, Phillips took the lead and command of the race.

Heat race winners included Eric Turner, Evan Hubert, David Turner and Denny Eckrich.

Al Purkey, Jeremy Payne, Bryant Goldsmith, and Alan Vaughn captured transfer positions to the 22-car A-main starting field via their B-Feature finishes.

MLRA series provisional  positions were awarded to Bill Koons and Andrew Kosiski while Gary Christian and Darrell Mooneyham earned MARS series provisional  positions.

The World of Outlaws and Kasey Kahne’s King of Sedalia event will be Tuesday at Missouri State Fair Speedway.

The event, originally scheduled for June 16, was rained out.

Ticket stubs from the June 16 rainout are redeemable.

Adult tickets cost $35 with tickets for children 6 to 12 years old costing $9.

Spectator gates will open at 5 p.m.

Hot laps begin at 7 p.m. followed by time trials, and racing at 8 p.m.

Local modified car drivers will serve as the support class.

A Feature Results

Friday, June 25

Missouri State Fair Speedway

1. Terry Phillips, Springfield

2. Eric Turner, Hermitage

3. Dave Eckrich, Oxford, Iowa

4. Brad Looney, Republic

5. Al Purkey, Coffeyville, Kan.

6. Jeremy Payne, Springfield

7. Matt Johnson, Archie

8. Kelly Boen, Henderson, Colo.

9. Alan Vaughn, Belton

10. David Turner, Adrian

11. Evan Hubert, Cross Timbers

12. Joe Kosiski, Omaha, Neb.

13. Brandon McCormick, Lebanon, Mo.

14. Chris Smyser, Lancaster

15. Denny Eckrich, Tiffin, Iowa

16. Bryant Goldsmith, Corning, Iowa

17. Chris Spieker, Massena, Iowa

18. Bill Koons, Omaha, Neb.

19. J.D. Hubert, Cross Timbers

20. Gary Christian, Broken Bow, Okla.,

21. Darrell Mooneyham, Verona

22. Zac Simmons, Erie, Kan.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Sedalia Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com