Last updated: September 09. 2013 4:59PM - 66 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Jim Moody of Odessa etched his name onto the storied list of Missouri State Fair champions on Sunday night at Missouri State Fair Speedway.

The steady-driving Moody won his third state championship in a wild modified feature event.

Thirty-four modified cars were on hand as part of the final night of the 2011 state fair.

The Midwest Latemodel Racing Association and the American Sprint Car Series Warrior Region 360cc sprint cars rounded out the lineup.

Twenty-six late models and 40 sprint cars made the trek to the fairgrounds.

In the modified event, Shad Badder and Jason Bodenhamer brought the 24-car starting field to the green flag.

Bodenhamer quickly shot out to an early race lead over Badder, Moody and Kyle Westerhold.

The first caution period came on lap five when Nick Newton, Kirby Steins, Travis Johnson and Paul Snyder experienced various problems.

Bodenhamer left his peers to battle it out for the runner-up position once green-flag race conditions resumed.

The second caution period appeared on lap 11 for debris with another debris caution period on lap 13.

After each restart, Bodenhamer maintained the top spot, as Badder and Westerhold had an exciting battle near the front. Moody faded by the midpoint of the race and at one time was as far back as sixth before rebounding in the late stages of the race.

By lap 17, another caution flag slowed the field with Gunner Martin experiencing problems.

The yellow came out again on the restart when a hard-charging Terry Schultz, who had made his way all the way to second place from his seventh starting spot, had a flat tire.

Schultz quickly made his way into the pit area where his crew changed his tire and sent him back out to rejoin the race.

Thompson and Richard Foster had an on-track skirmish near† corner two, which then continued down the backstretch, and into corner three with both cars heavily damaged from the contact and unable to continue.

About this time, just when the fans didnít think things could possibly be any more exciting, the two leaders got together just after a restart. Badder was trying to make a low-side pass on Bodenhamer for the lead on lap 18 when the race took on a whole new look.

There was contact between the two racers with Bodenhamerís car winding up spun around to bring out yet another caution. Race officials assessed the situation and Badder was asked to re-join the race on the tail end of the field, instead he pulled out of the race and finished 16th in the final running order.

The enthusiastic and vocal crowd held on for another restart on lap 19, as Bodenhamerís night continued to deteriorate when he spun down the front straightaway in the entrance to corner one.

This was the Centerview driverís second caution period and he had to leave the track where he ultimately finished in 15th place.

Scotty Roberts ran strong to that point and battled for a top-three finish until his race ended early.

With just five laps remaining after the final restart, Moody began a solid run back to the front as laps wore down. Westerhold assumed the lead after the late-race ruckus, as Moody used the high side to maneuver around him to take command.

By this time, Curt Potter and Mark Hoover made their way into the top five with solid performances, bringing along a rebounding Schultz who charged from the tail of the field to fifth.

When lap 25 rolled around, Moody became a three-time champion with Westerhold having a brilliant drive to the runner-up position.

Potter was third, followed by Hoover and Schultz.

The late model 30-lap main event was dominated by Omaha, Neb.ís John Anderson, who came into the night second in points to seven-time champion Al Purkey.

Purkey passed David Turner at the midpoint of the race to come away with the runner-up spot followed by Turner.

For a complete recap of the late model race, visit mlraracing.com.

In 360 sprint-car action, the fans witnessed one of the best sprint-car races ever at the historic half-mile track with Brian Brown, of Grain Valley, keeping the fans on their feet, as he charged to the front of the field to overtake Doverís Danny Lasoski for the victory on lap 24.

For complete sprint-car results, visit ascsracing.com.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Sedalia Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com