Log in

SFCC Phi Theta Kappa announces new fall members


State Fair Community College’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter welcomed nine students who have been accepted into PTK.

The new members for the fall semester are as follows:

Wardsvile: Jessica Diaz.

Marshall: Kaylee Morgan.

Versailles: Gabriel Petree.

Centerview: Amanda Porter.

Sedalia: Victoria Price, Madalyn Schuette, Lori Sumner, Austin Warkins.

Warrensburg: Jenna Wieberg.

These students will join more than 300 members in SFCC’s PTK chapter that is advised by Macheznie Craig, SFCC Science lab technician, and Kelsey Stuart, Science coordinator. Students are eligible to join after completing 12 hours of coursework toward an associate degree with a cumulative grade point average of 3.5. PTK members who meet certain participation criteria may be eligible to wear a PTK stole at commencement.

Phi Theta Kappa is the official national honor society for community colleges and is recognized by the American Association of Community Colleges. In 2018, PTK celebrated its 100th anniversary and has grown to more than 35 million members in the United States and 10 sovereign nations. The Phi Theta Kappa Foundation awards $15 million in scholarships to members each year. PTK has helped “millions of high-achieving college students reach their full potential by offering opportunities to develop professional and leadership skills, earn scholarships, explore career paths and make their worlds bigger.”


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here